• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Having difficulty hitting the right CO2 concentration

corymbosa

Hi guys! It's my first time doing a high-tech tank and I need some advice regarding the adequate CO2 concentration for my setup (1 week old). Livestock has not been added to the tank yet.

IMG_0109.JPG

Hardware:
Tank: 90x30x30cm (81L)
Effective water volume: ~60L
Hardscape: Spider wood, seiryu rocks, tropica aquasoil in filter bags capped with ADA sand
Lighting: Week Aqua P900 at 30% intensity for 8 hours a day
CO2: Too many bubbles to count, but it gets turned on 1 hour before the lights go up and stops one hour before lights retire
Filtration: Oase biomaster 350

Plants:
Background:
Pogostemon erectus
Rotala macrandra
Alternanthera reineckii ‘Rosanervig’
Rotala green

Midground:
Anubias nana
Anubias barteri
Anubias nana ‘golden’
Eriocaulon sp Vietnam
Bucephalandra ‘green broad leaf’
Bucephalandra ‘velvet’
Bucephalandra ‘kadagang’
Cryptocoryne lutea ‘hobbit’
Cryptocoryne balansae
Echinodorus ‘reni’
Staurogyne repens
Hygrophila pinnatifida
Hygrophila polysperma ‘rosanervig’
Hydrocotyle tripartita

Foreground:
Marsilea crenata

Water parameters:
I'm using a cheap pH meter and API test kit to test for pH.

Aerated tank water (bubbled overnight)
pH (meter): 8.33
pH (API): LR7.6, HR8.4
GH: 8
KH: 8

Fresh tank water before CO2 injection
pH (meter): 7.67
pH (API): LR7.2, HR7.4
GH: 8
KH: 3

CO2 injection pH stats
CO2 gets turned on 1 hour before lights go up. So at the 1 hour reading, that's when the lights just start.

1 hour: 6.6 (API), 6.84 (Meter)
2 hours: 6.4 (API), 6.64 (Meter)

Will be updated~

Optimal CO2 concentration based on pH drop
What I understand is that the optimal CO2 concentration is achieved with a pH drop of 1. But which starting pH should I be looking at? Fresh tank water or aerated tank water?