• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Help turning my Rotala 'Vietnam H'ra' red?

nuture92

Seedling
Hello! I'm having difficulty turning my Rotala 'Vietnam H'ra' red in my nano tank. At the moment, only the underside of my leaves are a lovely light pink colour, and the tops are almost entirely green. The plant has never been red, and I've been growing it for around 6 months.

From my initial research, it seems like switching my fertilisation from TNC Complete to a bespoke mix with reduced N and increased Fe might worth a shot? However, I could easily be missing something obvious, so please let me know.

Tank specs:
  • Size - 20L Dennerle Nano Cube
  • Filter - Oase FiltoSmart 100 External Filter
  • Lighting and duration - ONF Flat Nano +, 8hrs 100% (previously 80%)
  • Substrate - Dennerle - Scaper's Soil
  • Co2 dosing - 1 bubble/second
  • Fertilisers - TNC Complete, 2ml, 3x per week
  • Water change regime - 2x 80% water change per week
  • Plant list - Rotala 'Vietnam H'ra'
  • Inhabitants - None
I have been dosing TNC Complete, 2ml, 3x per week for about a month. Previously, I was dosing around 2ml, 1x per week. The most obvious change I can see is more rapid growth - stems grow at around 6-7cm per week.

Many thanks for any advice.

WhatsApp Image 2020-06-28 at 17.32.50.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2020-06-28 at 17.32.03.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2020-06-28 at 17.33.03.jpeg

However, I could easily be missing something obvious, so please let me know.