• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Bopowarls

Hi Everyone,

Complete noob here. Basically a couple of week ago I decided I wanted a fish tank. I assumed i'd just get a tank, fill it with water and add some sunken pirate ships and done. Little did I know...

I knew nothing at all about proper aquascaping and the 'science' behind it. After a few weeks of reading I've now got a basic understanding of aquascaping styles, substrates, Hi-tech and Low-Tech set ups, lighting and its importance, fertilizers, dosing, Co2 gas injection, liquid Co2, tank cycling, plants etc etc. I am now completely hooked and really excited about getting set up. Got lots more reading and learning to do so any help down the way would be really appreciated.

I've got a new Fluval Edge 23l on order and I ordered that before really looking into thing properly so I'm aware its going to be a b#&*h to work with (small opening at the top). I thought it was by far the best / modern looking tank and I will be the best suited one to match the decor / style of our house.

I plan to go with an Iwagumi style and keep it really simple. Not sure I want to spend a premium on special rocks like manten when I have the welsh countryside on my doorstep with granite rocks available for free (may not look as boney as a manten style rock but I can't justify spending money for something that can be had for free). Would like a green granite be ok in an aquarium? I've looked online and appears it should be OK.

I plan to go with a hemianthus callitrichoides carpet. That's pretty much it.

Would I need to go with co2 for this type of set up?

Can anyone recommend a heater that may be good with the fluval edge?

Any tips or advice would be great appreciate!

Thanks Everyone.

Owen

Welcome@Ukaps!