• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Hi...newbie here

andy

Hi all, just stumbled upon your site and it is very informative. I have 35 years trop experience, 20 years with marines and reefs and i've had ponds for as long as i can remember including my 3,000 gallon koi pond at the moment.

I have a small 30 x 15 x 12" community tank that i'd really like to strip down and start again as a nice planted tank.

My proposed set up would be as follows (i'm on a bit of a budget too)

Lighting....2 x 55w T5 power compact triplus tubes

Substrate....2cm aquatic soil or tetra plant substrate with 4cm black sand on top (no UG heating will be used unless advised)

Filteration....small eheim external

Temp....78 F

Water....50/50 RO/tap water....which is on the hard, alkaline side as we live in the middle of the chalky south downs.

CO2....from cylinder.....dosage to be advised (poss 1 bubble every 2 seconds)

Stocking....30-40 cardinal tetras, a couple of panda cories, a couple of otocinclus and maybe a few shrimps....typically an amazon type set up.

Plants.....bought online from somewhere like greenline who have been superb in the past. varieties to be decided yet !!!!

Comments, critisism, advice etc etc all welcome.

Many thanks for your time

Andy

Hi Andy and welcome to UKAPS!

Your plans sound good. I have a few comments.

How will you mount the lighting? In a hood?

Power Compacts get very hot, especially twin 55w.

Will you be using reflectors? I don't know of any available for PC T5 so you may have to modify T8 or HO T5 reflectors.

110w over your size tank (approx 90 l.) is a lot of light - over 4 watts per gal.

I recommend using just the one light for the majority of the photoperiod. You'll be able to grow the vast majority of plants with the one 55w PC T5.