• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

How much light for the start of a planted tank?

Knuta

Hi,
I will be setting up a new tank in a few weeks, and I was wondering how much light I should start out with. The tank will be heavily planted.

Tank: 160L (100x40x40)
Filter: Oase biomaster thermo 600
Light: Chihiros WRBG2 pro
Co2: Pressurised tank, co2art regulator, co2art bazooka diffuser. Will start out with a good amount of Co2 to limit algae in startup.
Soil: Tropica Soil

I was thinking of setting the light to 10-20% brightness at the start, and then slowly ramp it up when the plants have established themselves properly. Any thoughts?

Personally, I'm no expert, I would increase the lighting until algae appears then dial it back to control the algae.
My way of looking at it is the only drawback to too much light is algae bloom. It is a balancing act between enough light for plants to grow but not to much light to let algae grow?

I’d been wondering the same. Is lighting length vs intensity part of this? Is it better to run longer and lower, or shorter and higher?

Having no idea myself about your light ,you could check out the Green Aqua you tube channel for lighting and Tommy as recently done one on the light you have

The first question to ask is whether the plants are already adapted to aquatic conditions or not. Makes a big difference. If plants are already adapted you can pretty much neglect a start-up phase. The act of transfer is disruptive for sure, but I find plants to catch up really fast. Unlike plants that are grown emersed.

"Will start out with a good amount of Co2 to limit algae in startup." More CO2 doesn't limit algae growth. Algae are more efficient CO2 processors than the bog plants we keep submersed. Hence your question pertains to plants and boils down to the following: