• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Howdy from Colorado, USA

AlannaBrake

Seedling
Hi y'all -

My name's Lanna and I stumbled on UKAPS while troubleshooting my melting plants (they're revived and thriving now thanks to your great tips!). I'm brand new to the planted tank universe and excited to learn. I have already seen many enviable setups in the few threads I've visited, and everyone here seems lovely and helpful.

I ran fresh(46gal), salt(29gal) and brackish(46gal) fish-only tanks for about 5 years but then had a 5 year hiatus when I couldn't afford to keep up the habit. Now I'm back and charmed by the challenge and beauty of live plants.

Here is tonight's photo of my 2 week old low-tech 46 gallon (174 liter) bow-front. No co2 system yet but dosing with Flourish Excel, Current Satellite LED+ 36" strip lighting, and an old H.O.T. Magnum 250 filter. Will be adding a herd of handsome guppies tomorrow afternoon to keep the Betta active. I'm opting for easy-care fish so I can focus on listening to the plants until I get the hang of this.

I know this specific landscape config has been done thousands of times before... but it's the one that hooked my interest so I had to try a variation of it. ;)

pWh9b6n.jpg

I can't tell you how excited I am that my melting plants from last week are now flourishing and beginning to reach out across the substrate (I feel like an all powerful goddess, muah-haha!); I'm hoping the Dwarf Baby Tear carpet will be able to fill in without CO2 assistance. Think I have a chance?

Looking forward to learning and growing with y'all. Holler if you have any thoughts on the setup.

Cheers!
Lanna