• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Hydor External Heater vs Schego Titanium

Dieni

Seedling
What would you choose from the above. I will be using an Inkbird ITC-306T controller or something similar.

I would prefer to have the minimum equipment showing in the tank but my only concern is that in the past I had a Hydor external heater fail on me whilst on holiday, which almost wiped out all my fish, but a lot of people here use them without any problems.

So any of you have had any issues with the Hydor?

I remember a lot of reports in the past about a bad hydor batch that burnet out the relay on the thermostat. Don't know if they addressed the issue by now.
But that is actualy always a risk with those tiny electronics, i've been using external thermostats for several years in several occasions. All the very same small relay a tad bigger than the one build in the hydor. But also had one among them that burned out this relay after a few years of use. While others switching even more watts still work like a charm today.

I guess it's bad luck with a relay made on a blue monday. :)

I made a few myself following this idea it actualy works very good.. And you can choose a range of Wattage.

Also have been using an inline thermistor.. If the inkbird uses an NTC 10K this could be an option to put inline in front of the heater.
www.aliexpress.com/item/2pcs-NTC-1m-2m-3m-3-28ft-5-56ft-9-84ft-10K-Thermistor-Temperature-Measuring-Sensor/32790028043.html

I've used an inline Hydor for several years. It's pretty reliable. However, I've had to take it apart twice since it started leaking, but only after it hadn't been used for a while. Easy to fix tho'.