• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

In at the deep end

King Arthur

Seedling
Hello Everyone.

New member here from Israel. Glad to be on the forum.

I've wanted a planted tank for ages now, but finances and other obligations meant it just wasn't feasible.

However, I was on my way home yesterday when something caught my eye. I'm always on the look out for useful trash and this seemed to be interesting. On closer inspection I found a huge aquarium. It's all glass, about 330L, roughly 77cm by 77cm by 57cm high.

Looks professionally made and it was too good to pass by, so I got some old bits of wood to act as skis and hauled it home. It now sits in my garden and so I'm here, about to take the plunge in a far grander style than I had been imagining.

As a complete newbie, I need a little advice. Is this too big to start off with? I had always imagined a low tech setup, with more of a carpet of simple plants rather than anything extravagant. I liked the idea of the central piece being a large stone tall stone. I'm not a fan of large fish and always imagined a small shoal of tetras or similar.

The tank has a corner that has been boxed off and split into two compartments. Looks like it was designed for a filtration system. One of these compartments sits over a neatly drilled hole in the bottom of the tank. If anyone could enlighten me as to what this is for and how the filtration may work I'd really appreciate it.

Well that's it. I should start a journal when I get the kit together to make a start.

Thanks!

Richard.

Before starting anything, fill with water and leave...you might end up finding the reason it had been thrown away ;).

The two compartments and hole in the bottom would be for a drain to a sump, sounds like this was a marine tank.