In-line CO2

Discussion in 'Carbon Dioxide (CO2)' started by PM, 18 Jul 2008.

  1. PM

    PM Member

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Location:
    London
    I have been thinking about getting an in-line CO2 diffuser, as it annoys me having to have one inside the tank (as my tank is very small).

    Does anyone have one that they are using on a smallish tank (mine's 54 liters) are they any good? Any problems??

    Also is it just Cal-Aqua Labs that make them? They are quite expensive :eek:

    Thanks :)

    EDIT: Just found this http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=yuh0gUDYpuo looks good. I like those rocks too!
     
  2. Garuf

    Garuf Member

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,959
    Location:
    Leeds.
    Cal Aqua are the only one's that make an inline diffuser. There are numerous reactors available from this german seller.
    http://myworld.ebay.co.uk/aquarianerversand
    If none of those fit the bill then you could always DIY one or use a straight through adapter the kind that have an airline on them.
     
  3. TDI-line

    TDI-line Member

    Joined:
    11 Nov 2007
    Messages:
    1,535
    Location:
    Yaxley, Peterborough
    I've just ordered one from Aquamass in germany, just waiting for it too arrive now.

    http://www.aquamas.de/Reaktoren

    They also have vent pipes on top too.
     
  4. PM

    PM Member

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Location:
    London
    Thanks u 2, they do look like good pieces of kit, but the fact that they make the tubing go at 180 degrees in my view is stupid. Loads of extra tubing needed. Would screw with my flow rate too much I reckon. I like the Cal-Aqua as I could literally slice my outlet tube and install it, with no ill effect to flow.

    I would love to hear from somebody who owns one, I am seriously considering one but I need to know, are they really hard to keep clean?

    Thanks again :D
     
  5. ceg4048

    ceg4048 Expert/Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    11 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    8,953
    Location:
    Chicago, USA
    Hi PM,
    I use the Cal Aqua inline diffusers and they work quite well, however there are some ergonomic weaknesses as described in the latter half of this thread (which is about drop checkers but got slightly diverted to inline diffuser design)=> viewtopic.php?f=37&t=1560

    They are expensive but are the smallest and most elegant of the external solutions.

    Cheers,
     
  6. CAL

    CAL Newly Registered

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    8
  7. PM

    PM Member

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Location:
    London
    Wow, thanks CAL!! Haha, you'll be pleased to know that I am definitely going to order one of these soon, it looks fantastic.

    I just hope I can keep it lovely and clean :)
     
  8. CAL

    CAL Newly Registered

    Joined:
    17 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    8
  9. durtydurty

    durtydurty Member

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Staring at my Galaxies in Wilts
    Would love one of these inline jobs but just cant justify the expense, have looked everywhere for an alternative but cant find one anywhere.

    Would get a reactor but they arent that great if you want the minimal look.
     
  10. Superman

    Superman Member

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    I might treat myself to this Cal Aqua Inline Diffuser, looks the b's and e's.
    Although it quotes a max of 600lph which when I'm using a 1,500lph external. So might have to rethink.
     
  11. durtydurty

    durtydurty Member

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Staring at my Galaxies in Wilts
    What difference would the LPH make?
     
  12. PM

    PM Member

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Location:
    London
    Probably restrict the flow?
     
  13. Superman

    Superman Member

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Guess it will really. Might need an external reactor that'll cope with that flow rate.
     
  14. durtydurty

    durtydurty Member

    Joined:
    18 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Staring at my Galaxies in Wilts
    Not really having a great grasp on flow rates etc, would this be suitable for my 55 Gal with a Tetratec ex1200 filter?

    Am trying to convince myself this is possibly the way forward after getting fed up with a seemingly huge rhinox 2000 diffuser at the back of my tank shouting look at me everytime I gaze into my tank!
     
  15. Dave Spencer

    Dave Spencer Member

    Joined:
    3 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    N. Wales
    I have just taken out my Aquamas inline reactor, to move it to a bigger tank, and fitted the Cal Aqua. I have noticed a marked increase in filter output, so the Cal Aqua has less of a flow restriction than the Aquamas. :D

    Dave.
     
  16. Superman

    Superman Member

    Joined:
    29 Jan 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    Out of interest, which Aquamas reactor did you have Dave?
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice