• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Inlet or outlet

Blaugh

Seedling
I know variants of this question have been asked before however

I have a Biomaster 600 which has a inbuilt prefilter and considering attaching my UP Inline Atomizer CO2 Diffuser to the intake to increase dispersal as currently experiencing a slight misty haze in the water

Obvious concern in the welfare of the filter however my thought process is that the prefilter may mitigate any issues

All advise appreciated

At least try the inlet first. It's the best method to gain as much efficiency as possible and not waste gas to atmosphere. How you then develop a permanent method of diffusion is up to you but it's important to see if your filter can firstly cope with Co2 injection without burping all the gas out in large quantities every minute or so.

I've tried inline diffusion, in-tank atomisers etc and come full circle. For me, in-tank atomiser is the best method with the filter outlet positioned so that the flow pushes the Co2 bubbles down and across the floor of the tank as per the usual ADA method.

Inconsistencies can occur too easily with in-line diffusers and flow for instance when water level drops and more Co2 begins to creep out of the water column prematurely leading to Co2 level fluctuations and in turn - BBA outbreaks.