• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Is this BBA?

Bonobo

674F182F-3846-4902-8201-40FD13629D9B.jpeg
I’m fairly new to Aquascaping, this tank is about 4 months old, and this black stuff has popped up quite quickly, I need to identify it and start treating it asap, all advice welcome.

Hi @Bonobo
This looks like some unusually dark colored cyanobacteria to me, based on that it has formed those slimy sheets.
Yes, I agree with @Hufsa . If it was BBA (Audouinella), it would be brush-like. The cyanobacteria that grows in freshwater tanks is typically blue-green in colour. But, I am led to believe that other colours are possible. So, I'll investigate further.

JPC

The cyanobacteria that grows in freshwater tanks is typically blue-green in colour. But, I am led to believe that other colours are possible. So, I'll investigate further.
Hi Everyone,

It should come as no surprise that the grey-coloured cyanobacterial slime shown in post #1 is cyanobacteria that has reacted with hydrogen sulphide. For more details, please take a look at the following:

I guess that the bubbles in post #1 are most likely hydrogen sulphide bubbles. If that's the case, then a 'bad eggs' odour should be evident. Yes/No?

JPC

Last edited:
You can get rid of it easily by siphoning it out. You can also spot dose H2O2 or do a full tank treatment. Neither will eliminate the cause. I fought it for years in one of my tanks. Never won that battle.

If hydrogen sulfide gas is bubbling up from your substrate you should address that as well.

Thanks, what the best approach to treat it?
I havent personally struggled with cyanobacteria or similar types of slime algae, but the advice I have seen offered most often is to increase flow over your substrate and to make sure your tank gets a balanced fertilizer, with an emphasis on not letting nitrate bottom out to zero