• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Just starting out, help choosing substrate

storm

Hi

I'm just starting out in the hobby and have purchased an open top 80l aquarium that is 45cm wide (similar to dennerle scapers tank)

I plan on keeping shrimp and plants only and wanted some suggestions on substrate that would be suitable and how much of it I would need.

Thanks in advance!

/tropica.com/en/plant-care/aquarium-soil/aquarium-soil-powder/']Tropica soil powder[/URL]> is suitable for a planted aquarium and shrimp. Do not confuse the powder version with the standard version, which has a larger grain size. Smaller grain works much better in a small tank.

A 9 liter bag will give you ~5 cm of substrate in this tank.
Thanks for your reply. do I then put gravel over the top of it?

Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk

Thanks for your reply. do I then put gravel over the top of it?
I would not put gravel in the areas that are going to be planted, but aquasoil only. If you want to have some gravel visible on unplanted areas then you can put in on top of the soil. Just make sure the gravel has a larger grain than the aquasoil underneath, otherwise <it will go wrong>.

Aquasoils release ammonia for the first weeks. So you need frequent (daily) water changes right after setting up the tank, or to use a "<dark start>" method, also <discussed here> (I would strongly suggest the latter).

I would not put gravel in the areas that are going to be planted, but aquasoil only. If you want to have some gravel visible on unplanted areas then you can put in on top of the soil. Just make sure the gravel has a larger grain than the aquasoil underneath, otherwise /www.ukaps.org/forum/threads/in-the-market-for-new-substrate-in-an-existing-tank.38615/#post-418751']it will go wrong[/URL]>.