Light, CO2 or something else?

Discussion in 'Plant Help' started by Tom, 25 Sep 2016.

1. Tom

Tom Member

My HC has struggled from the off - basically everything I planted melted away quite badly within the first week, but most things are recovering now. The main exceptions to this are the HC and the Micranthemum micranthemoides. I totally lost my Bolbitis and Hydrocotyle.

Both HC and MM are very slow growing and seeing more diatoms than any other plants. Everything else is now growing fairly well and responding well to trimming (including hairgrass, Didiplis, Ludwigia, Rotala, moss, Crypts etc.).

IMG_8302.jpg

It's my first time trying out LED lighting, so I was wondering whether it was sufficient. CO2 'should' be ok. 1bps into the current in a 45cm aquarium, seemingly well distributed. The only question I would have is whether the higher temperature here could be causing issues. The water temp is regularly 27-29, with the air temperature between 26 and 34 daily. I tried running a fan over the water surface all day, but there was no noticeable difference. Hopefully over the next month it'll start dropping. Will have the opposite problem in winter, with no central heating/double glazing/insulation of any description in Japan.

So the question is, what do you think might be causing the issues with these two plants? Light, CO2, heat or something else? I'm considering trying something different in the foreground- perhaps more moss and hairgrass, but it's not really the look I wanted.

Thanks,

Tom

2. hogan53

hogan53 Global Moderator Staff Member

Hi Tom
    It is usually a Co2 issue and a distribution of that gas that leads to melting!
    Do you have a drop checker?
    You could try growing the HC and MC emersed in a separate bowl or tank then submerge the plant every few days with water to help with the transition to underwater life!
    Then replant.