• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Light options..

James53

Hi all. I'm a newbie so any help I'm grateful for, tank not setup presently but aiming for it soon.

I'm going no co2 so low tech I guess and easy plants categories. My tank is 80 litres (18 gallons) and is 45cm wide by 45 deep, 8mm glass. I've purchased one fluval aquasky 12w (800lm) which I fear by turning it on ain't up to the job. Someone mentioned twinstar to me which looks great but sadly pricey. Any thoughts on getting an additional aquasky or should I save for twinstar. Any other options I can consider? I don't know where to start!

is there a rough amount of watts from LEDs I need for low tech, no co2 easy plants?

Thanks all..

Unless you are looking for deep reds or a carpet then you don't need a bright light. My fluvals are running on the light provided for low tech and its fine. Be very wary of jumping on a super bright light. They will need to be dimmed and you can get cheaper just as effective lights.

Hello,
I am in complete agreement with Kevin Eades. By far, too many people get sucked in to the giant Hoover of the bright light syndrome and then pay dearly for it. You should be happy with your Fluval Aquasky and it's measly 12 watts (which may still be excessive) because that may save you lots of heartache.
Light causes algae. Too much light causes hobbyists to look for another hobby.

Cheers,