• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Low tech help

Martin Osmond

Any decent links, guides, journal's, video's etc for a complete beginner thinking of starting up a low tech tank?
Also any pictures of what can be achieved would be great.

George farmer has just released a new video on how to set up a low tech tank, you should check it out in the tutorial section :) also there are lots of threads on low tech set ups in the separate discussions , happy reading:D

Last edited:
George's video is definitely worth a watch, many of the principles that apply to low-maintenance also apply to low-energy.
You could also give this a read as well http://www.ukaps.org/forum/threads/the-soil-substrate-or-dirted-planted-tank-a-how-to-guide.18943/ also in the Tutorials section.

P.S. The main difference between the two is that low-maintenance doesn't preclude the use of CO2.

Cheers, ive seen George's video and its a great help. That link is also very helpful, thankyou.

I currently have an fx6 on my 245 litre tank, is this gonna be too much if i go low tech as if my understanding of that link is right you dont need much filtration?

Also I have a 66w led light unit on the tank, which although might not be that powerful on paper it is very bright, will this be ok?

My only other concern, right now at least, is the tank gets an awful lot of natural light from two great bigg sliding patio doors and another window directly opposite it. Its great for my mbuna as they spend all day grazing on the algae but how much of a problem will this be for a low tech planted tank?

easy just buy a hob filter fill it with nylon string put strong light on the back of the filter where the nylons strings are leave it for a week put some soil in and you have cellular activity

edit: natural filtration