• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

LUX, PAR, PUR and DSLR

tmiravent

Hello,

I have some questions about the light.
I believe many of us have the same issues, the first doubt is: Is the light the best possible?

About a year restarted the hobby and quickly became a fan of the LED .
Now i'm 100% LED (nothing against other lights) is just my preference.
But i find sometimes lack of knowledge about this type of light, works with some but seems to not very good with others...
To learn more we need to measure, that's one way to go (we can also choose the try and error track).
All things are possible to be measured and compared , is too complicated?
After reading and researching some articles , especially on LED , I have some questions that some experienced 'users' may be able to respond .

Luxmeter [convert LUX to PAR ? ]
A simple light meter (lux meter) will not take accurate readings of aquarium lighting. There is always a error involved. Reading some articles and forums come to the conclusion that it is possible to measure with some accuracy , if we know the correction factor. It seems that the error is constant and if we know the factor it will give useful values.
So, in practice, despite the limitation of the light meter to the green (most important in view of the human being) region it is possible to assess a value to convert ( implies knowledge of the specific features of the lights that we measured ) .

Question 1 : The conversion works with sufficient accuracy ?

PAR
After digging about PAR, types of meters , handset prices and characteristics of those devices, there was a little bug scratching my ear...