• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

My First Hardscape Please Critique

Tommy

Hi everyone this is my very first attempt at a hardscape please critique your honest opinion and tell me what Ive done wrong and where and also how to correct or make better. Thank you for your time, look forward to all responses. :)

Attachments

• IMG_4436.JPG
    IMG_4436.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 462
  • IMG_4443.JPG
    IMG_4443.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 197
  • IMG_4439.JPG
    IMG_4439.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 201
  • IMG_4441.JPG
    IMG_4441.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 190
  • IMG_4441.JPG
    IMG_4441.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 182
  • IMG_4444.JPG
    IMG_4444.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 152
i think the rocks in pic 3 and 4 don't look very natural because they all point to the timber like the petals on a sunflower maybe try mixing the directions up a bit.
a good go for the first try keep at it!

dave

You can reduce the reflections when you take photos of the tank by turning the lights off in the room or closing the curtains.

An approach you might want to consider is to place the rocks as if they have been moved there by forces of nature - imagine how a strong flow of water might have tumbled them into place. James Findley’s “Scree” video is a great example of this on a smaller scale.

Another technique you can use is to line up the textures of the rocks so they look like they belong to a much larger rock hidden under the substrate.

There’s nothing really “wrong” with what you have done, it’s all subjective - but you are wise to spend some time getting this stage right and asking for guidance. An aquarium can bring you many years of pleasure.

Do you have any favourite aquascapes created by others that you are using for inspiration?
If you haven’t already then Takashi Amano, James Findley and George Farmer are all worth researching amongst many others!