Nano Aquarium with Fluval G3?

Discussion in 'Filters, Filtration and Pumps' started by adamt4050, 23 Jan 2016.

  1. adamt4050

    adamt4050 Member

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Hello All,

    I'm thinking of buying a Do! Aqua 25x25x25(cm) Nano aquarium for my desktop and Im just planning everything out and exploring my options - I have an unused Fluval G3 sat in my attic gathering dust, I was wondering if I would be ale to use it on my desktop setup.

    Obviously its quite a large filter in comparison to the aquarium itself, so i waned know it would "work" e.g. Be safe.
    Let me know your thoughts and experiences with using a large filter on a small tank.

    I look forward to hearing from you.
    - Adam
     
    Last edited: 24 Jan 2016
  2. Julian

    Julian Member

    Joined:
    20 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    691
    Splice the pipes and put in a tap to reduce the flow?

    31qthescfll._sx300_.jpg
     
  3. adamt4050

    adamt4050 Member

    Joined:
    4 Jun 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Hey Julian,

    Thanks for the suggestion. I'll check that out :)
     
  4. DRG93

    DRG93 Member

    Joined:
    21 Jul 2013
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK.
    I'm not sure what the internal looks like on a G3 - I believe they are cartridges with pre-filled media? Otherwise I was going to suggest that you just pack the filter with as much media as possible - that also reduces the flow rate significantly. But I like Julian's idea of the valve, that is more than likely your best bet!
     
  5. Dr Mike Oxgreen

    Dr Mike Oxgreen Member

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2016
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Woking, UK
    I have found that these taps do not like being in an intermediate position and will leak if they're neither fully on nor fully off.
     
  6. Dantrasy

    Dantrasy Member

    Joined:
    22 Sep 2014
    Messages:
    612
    Location:
    Australia
    i recent got a g6, havn't got it running yet. But i know the g3 has the same kind of electronic controls. I believe you can press a button and turn down the flow. job done.
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice