Nano substrate? Which one?

kishan313

Member
Joined
4 Jun 2020
Messages
112
Location
London
What would you recommend?

1/ Tropica (which one, soil/substrate?)
2/ JBL
3/ Fluval Stratum

Thanks!!
 

kishan313

Member
Joined
4 Jun 2020
Messages
112
Location
London
Thanks Ray. The Tropica does work a bit more expensive but if the quality is better then I’ll think I’ll go for it.

There’s a lot of positive reviews about in on YouTube but glad to see it’s worked well in your nano.

Noted on the 1 month, will do plenty of water changes too


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

alto

Member
Joined
24 Dec 2014
Messages
5,992
Tropica Growth Substrate must be used as a bottom layer with fine gravel etc as a top layer (at least 4cm recommended) - this is expected to release significant ammonia etc if exposed to water column

Tropica Aquarium Soil - I use Powder only
The only times I monitored, ammonia etc was negligible (more recently used Seachem Ammonia Alert) but this is in soft, acidic water and almost always include some established media (or previously used soil), wood, plants etc
And I do frequent water changes initially, also successive water changes to remove all fines/clouding after tank has been planted

Happened to watch this Riverwood Aquatics Video recently (note the “sand” colour of the substrate)

 

Ray

Member
Joined
31 Oct 2007
Messages
676
Location
Switzerland
Tropica Aquarium Soil - I use Powder only
The only times I monitored, ammonia etc was negligible (more recently used Seachem Ammonia Alert) but this is in soft, acidic water and almost always include some established media (or previously used soil), wood, plants etc
Can confirm if you don't have mature filter media - as I didn't - it puts out enough ammonia to go through a fish less cycle. I did not use the powder but it is probably better to get it for a nano, especially if you do a carpet.
 

alto

Member
Joined
24 Dec 2014
Messages
5,992
Can confirm if you don't have mature filter media - as I didn't - it puts out enough ammonia to go through a fish less cycle. I did not use the powder but it is probably better to get it for a nano, especially if you do a carpet.

I suspect that ammonia release is variable (re Production runs) - lfs set up new test tanks with various substrates and tracked ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, pH for several weeks
The Tropica Aquarium Soil tank showed negligible ammonia etc (other substrates included ADA Amazonia, Tropica GS and maybe Eco Complete ... unfortunately I didn’t do much more than glance at the project data)
 

Ray

Member
Joined
31 Oct 2007
Messages
676
Location
Switzerland
I suspect that ammonia release is variable (re Production runs) - lfs set up new test tanks with various substrates and tracked ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, pH for several weeks
The Tropica Aquarium Soil tank showed negligible ammonia etc (other substrates included ADA Amazonia, Tropica GS and maybe Eco Complete ... unfortunately I didn’t do much more than glance at the project data)

Would be fun to see that data. I’m particularly curious how long any Gh/Kh/Ph changes persist for....

However from a practical point of view the precise amounts is not a big deal - it’s enough to know there will be “some” so one should cycle the tank before adding livestock and be wary if adding more substrate to an already stocked aquarium.
 

JoshP12

Member
Joined
8 Dec 2019
Messages
473
Location
Canada
Hi @Ray,

Would be fun to see that data. I’m particularly curious how long any Gh/Kh/Ph changes persist for....

Sweet inquiry. Prior to getting my lights, I ran a dark start with tropica powder and osmocote style root tabs - it worked. During this time, I tested levels, remineralized water, etc just for fun.

I can confirm that the GH dropped from my water change water to my substrate-only aquarium and, although I was adding root tabs punched with phosphate, I never could get the color of my vial to change color (who cares how much it changes by). I ended up adding phosphate to the water column, tested and got a nice blue ... a week ish later, I tested again and it was clear. TOO COOL! CEC in action!

Anyways, once the tank is planted and maintenance and water changes are implemented, I think the system becomes to synchronous to "see" the effects ... but they are happening.

Josh
 

Similar threads

Top