• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Neocaradinia die off

john arnold

Hi

I usually have no problem with then breeding in my other tanks bit my kitchen tank that is plantwd tank just a simple little sponge filter on, 30*30*30 no fish just shrink
Amm 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
Only tank i ahve with so little nitrate in
Anyway there are quite a few in there around 30 pr more but dont seem to get amy adults in there and just noticed a few on their backs, no idea whats wrong, anu shrimp experts thwre
Oh i noticed a lot of copeopods in there too?
Thanks

Last edited:
@john arnold I am also not a shrimp expert, but did you drip acclimate the shrimps to the new tank (assuming it was "cycled") ? If you moved them from the other tank to the new tank they may have suffered a shock if the water parameters are wildly different. Also, you need to dose fertilizer (NPK) to get the Nitrate level up... your plants must be starving :)

Cheers,
Michael

@john arnold I am also not a shrimp expert, but did you drip acclimate the shrimps to the new tank (assuming it was "cycled") ? If you moved them from the other tank to the new tank they may have suffered a shock if the water parameters are wildly different. Also, you need to dose fertilizer (NPK) to get the Nitrate level up... your plants must be starving :)

Cheers,
Michael
hi

no its not a new tank and i do dose that 24hr aquarist fertiliser daily, my other tanks are EI dosed, the plants and moss are doing great, i remembered I chucked an Air plant in there to water it that night, it must be that that killed a few off

I'm no expert but I'll have a go, what's your PH, KH and GH like? are you using tap, RO or a mixture, and what are you feeding them?
Hi

ph 6.8 not measeured gh/kh but normal for my house is around 12 gh and 6 kh just use tap water