• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

New Setup

JamesM

Hello all :)

I've just upgraded my shrimp tank to a 24x12x15" tank with 36w compact T5 lighting (daylight 7500k bulb). I'm running a hob filter with sponge from my main 4ft tank (established for over 5 years).

Also, I figured I'd try a few harder plants as I'm using better lighting and good substrate (several thin layers of jbl proglora, sand and some of that Azoo rip-off ADA stuff). I've also used some iron and nutri tabs, and I'm going to run some 'el cheapo' canned CO2 made by Colombo (similar to the Tetra co2 Optimat but half the price. Yes I'm tight).

The plants I'm using are HC, Glosso, Lilaeopsis Novea-zelandiae, and Pogostemon Helferi. I have no experience with these plants, so its trial and error. Maidenhead have a bargain on plants like these atm too - 5 pots for £10. And the pots aren't small. To avoid algae I also bought several bunches of Densa.

Two questions...

The substrate is going to mess my ph around for a while, but how long do you think it will take to cycle and balance the tank using old media?

How long should the densa remain in the tank to prevent algae?

Thanks,

- James

Yes, if the media is old and fresh (does that make sense?!) then it's instantly cycled. If your substrate is like aquasoil though and releases ammonia then I'd leave it for a couple of days for the spike to go.

Why did you add the elodea? If it's to soak up ammonia then your filter's doing that. If it's to soak up excess nutrients then you need a word with cegipedia....

beeky said:
you need a word with cegipedia....
:huh:

Thanks... yeah, I'm worried about an ammonia spike because shrimp are so sensitive to it. I don't have a test kit for ammonia atm either >.< My ph shot from 7.2 to 8.4 though, and no2 and no3 are quite high.