• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

New to CO2

Sacul

Hi guys!

I've decided to upgrade my tank, I've just bought a 300L tank and want to start using CO2. The problem is I've never used it before, I've tried liquid CO2 before but that's going to end up being very expensive in the bigger tank.

I'm not even sure where to begin! I've been looking at the JBL ProFlora u502 CO2 System. I know it's not refillable, I have been to my local shop where they say they can refil CO2 but need to send it away for 3 -5 days. That seems like hassle so would rather buy the disposable one and order it in advance of it running out.

Is this a good way to go or can I do it cheaper/better than just buying the off the shelf kit?

Thanks!

Hi guys!

I've decided to upgrade my tank, I've just bought a 300L tank and want to start using CO2. The problem is I've never used it before, I've tried liquid CO2 before but that's going to end up being very expensive in the bigger tank.

I'm not even sure where to begin! I've been looking at the JBL ProFlora u502 CO2 System. I know it's not refillable, I have been to my local shop where they say they can refil CO2 but need to send it away for 3 -5 days. That seems like hassle so would rather buy the disposable one and order it in advance of it running out.

Is this a good way to go or can I do it cheaper/better than just buying the off the shelf kit?

Thanks!
the cheapest way, is to use second hand, out of date fire extinguishers. you can get 5kg ones for as little as 15 pounds, compared to shops which might make you pay 2,3x that amount. as for the regulator, many people seem to have success with co2 art regulators!

How would I go about getting a fire extinguisher refilled?