• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Newbie! Discus and plants, what buffers?

Crow

Seedling
Hello,
My first thread here on the site. I am setting up a 90 gallon discus/planted tank. The tank has a sump system with ten pounds of ecosystems mud, Eco-complete substrate (2 to 2-1/2 inch deep) temp 80-81°, water source is a RO/DI unit.

Currently not co2 injected, tho I ordered a system tonight, and I get all my plants on Friday.

I'm new to planted tanks, and limited knowledge with discus. I need to know what buffers and supplements do I need?

With my limited knowledge, I came up with the following.

Seachem Discus Trace
Seachem Discus Buffer
Seachem Neutral Regulator
Seachem Equilibrium

I'd really apparate some help, I don't want to does the tank with something I don't need, and miss out on something I do!

Thanks in advance,
-Crow

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hello,
Why not save money and just re-mineralize with a percentage of tap water? None of that stuff is really necessary. If I had to pick one I'd choose the Equilibrium. Your profile doesn't state where you live, but if you are in America you can use of GH Booster which is much cheaper. Check the Tutorial section which has articles on how to set up a planted tank as well as how to deal with CO2 and how to use nutrients.

Cheers,

Hello,
Why not save money and just re-mineralize with a percentage of tap water? None of that stuff is really necessary. If I had to pick one I'd choose the Equilibrium. Your profile doesn't state where you live, but if you are in America you can use of GH Booster which is much cheaper. Check the Tutorial section which has articles on how to set up a planted tank as well as how to deal with CO2 and how to use nutrients.

Cheers,