• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Newbie, need some low tech tank guidance.

JustMike

Soooo, i have a tank running which is month and a half old. There is one echinodorus (probably grisebachi) which has been doing bad since the start. You can see it in the picture below.

IMG20220127160127.jpg

Some plants have completely vanished, rotala green, and hygrophila pinnatifida have just vanished. Most other plants seem to be doing quite allright. Most crypts are making new leaves.

I want to figure out why that echinodorus is not happy. I'm a complete newb. This is my second tank, the first is a nano tank which is doing 'fine' all things considering.

Tank is 180 liter, tap water.
Tap water has a ph of 7.6. german degrees of hardness is 11.20 to 24.64. I also found out all of the other stats of which it is comprised but i don't know if this information is of use.

I just tested tank water. Since i ran out of fert mix yesterday, i havent added any since. I'm awaiting delivery of 1000ml dosing bottles to make a new batch. Ammonia, nitrite and nitrite all zero. Ph 7,5. I do 50% water changes once per week.

Soil is dennerle deponit. Topped off with a gravel layer.

Lights are two t5 size LED tubes by Sera. One has white and red led's, 6000 to 8000 kelvin. The other has red led's, has around 3000 kelvin. Both are equivalent to 45 watts, so i have 0,5 watts per liter. This is low light, so i've put them to 100% only yesterday, i had them at lower setting before while figuring out their strength. They run 8 hours now with 1 ramp up and ramp down included.