• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Noob here would like some advice

Jordimex

Seedling
Hello my name is Jorge, actually i am a week old in this hobby and fish keeping all together
For my tank im not looking to emmulate any particular style im just going freestyle hope it works
I have a 65 gal tank, with a aquatop CF400-UV i have no idea what the flow rate is (all i know is that the guy at the fish store said it was sufficient), also have a fluval T5 pro for fresh water plants currently on for 8 hours a day, i don't use CO2, have a QP-5 pump and as of the moment I haven't changed the water but plan on doing it every week, started out 3 days ago with this tank with the Fritz-Zyme Turbostart 700 and today my ammonia and nitrates levels where in the green for new fish, got 2 I believe koi angelfish and a fire eel but have noticed that the angel fish are always tucked in a corner away from the flow i don't know how to set it slow enough for them to be comfortably swimming in the tank. Also need advice on how to create a carpet style for the substrate part of the tank.
Also have a small 10 gal tank with 2 bala sharks, 1 gold dojo loach, two tetras and a rainbow shark; as of equipment for this tank im not sure what kind of lights it has but i have a small flow filter and so far all is good.

Hope we can start this thread going with all of your advice
thank you and sorry for the bad english IMG_5400 2.JPG IMG_5401 2.JPG IMG_5316 2.JPG

Hmm.

You need to wait for anything upto 8-12 weeks for a tank to cycle and ammonia reduce to zero before you introduce fish. Ammonia is very toxic to fish.

You ammonia probably reads zero as the bacteria haven't had a chance to grow, this takes weeks.

So, choices are, remove the fish for a couple of weeks whilst the tank matures/cycles.