Oase external thermo filters

Marc Jackson

Has anyone had experience of these as I am thinking of buying two 600's. I've seen Pondguru's YouTube run down on them but wondered if anyone on here uses them. Is there anyway of modifying the pre-filter?

e.jgodette

I have a Biomaster 600 that I retro fitted with the 300 watt heat up heater. It is running in a 30 gallon planted aquarium. I’ve had a lot of problems with it CONSTANTLY purging air and flow not being good. I’ve finally come to the conclusion that it is because of the prefilter. The prefilter sponges that came with my filter (which were the black 60ppi sponges) were too fine and due to the strain on the system it sucked in air which in turn caused the filter to CONSTANTLY purge air. So...I removed one of the sponges and unfortunately this did not resolve the problem. So I watched Pondguru’s video. I drilled extra holes in the prefilter tubing, ordered the orange 30ppi sponges from Amazon, and removed all the 60ppi sponges from the prefilter. With NO sponges in the prefilter chamber and the extra holes in the tubing the flow is considerably better, the filter is totally quiet and THE PURGING HAS STOPPED. HOWEVER, when I added JUST 3 of the Orange 30ppi sponges to the prefilter...the purging of air started again, but not nearly as much as before. So I’ve taken them out again and the filter runs flawlessly again. So now I’ve cut some large slits in the Orange 30ppi sponges and I’m going to put them back into the prefilter. I’ll let you know what happens. This is my experience with this filter (over a 2 month period). I hope this helps.