• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up
  • You can now follow UKAPS on Instagram.

Oase Optimax Pump 1000

klolyn

Member
Joined
16 Feb 2019
Messages
38
Location
London, UK
Have ordered this for a water change process and can anyone advise what size hose connector is on the top? 16/22 or 16/16 or regular garden hose? I need to order 10m of hose (to reach from water source)

Thanks

Keith
 

klolyn

Member
Thread starter
Joined
16 Feb 2019
Messages
38
Location
London, UK
@Niton Hose came today. Used it to syphon off most of the tank water and when I plugged it into the Oase Optimax 1000, it couldn't even get the water up and over the bath lip. let alone along the hose (10m x 16/22) into the tank. utter pants, don't bother with it
 

Siege

Member
Joined
11 Aug 2017
Messages
1,247
Location
Cambridgeshire, UK
That sounds most odd. Are you sure there wasn’t an air bubble stuck in between water in the hose.

I only ask as I used to use the eheim 1000 pump and that used to do that.

I now use the eheim compact 3000 (scaled down to 16/22) and it does the same. When a bubble is stuck in between the water in the hose it cannot push any water up beyond a few inches.

ive not personally used the oase 1000 though.

May be worth taking a video and sending it to oase?
 

Niton

Member
Joined
30 Jun 2018
Messages
180
Location
Newcastle upon Tyne
@Niton Hose came today. Used it to syphon off most of the tank water and when I plugged it into the Oase Optimax 1000, it couldn't even get the water up and over the bath lip. let alone along the hose (10m x 16/22) into the tank. utter pants, don't bother with it

That's a real shame. George's video mentions him using a 10 metre hose. Are you trying to pump from upstairs to downstairs or are the tank and water source on the same level?

I think George uses some sort of clip to fasten the hose. Maybe your fit isn't tight enough?
 

klolyn

Member
Thread starter
Joined
16 Feb 2019
Messages
38
Location
London, UK
Swapped out the sump pump for the oase 1000 and got Georges system going ok. i may be able to use the 1000 as a dry pump to hoover out the sump chambers periodically.....
 

klolyn

Member
Thread starter
Joined
16 Feb 2019
Messages
38
Location
London, UK
Next time, when completed the syphon process, I will bung the hose to trap the water and connect the Oase 1000 to see if it works. There almost certainly was an air gap in the hose when trialled for the first time. Bath source and tank are on the same level (bungalow) and approx 10m apart. It may be near the pumps height limit at approx 1.5m from FFL to tank lip. I will let you know how it goes. my sump pump didnt have any snags, i had to turn that down to min setting to stop the tank end going like a jet wash. I may rig the 1000 up in the garden to see how it performs out of the pond (not much else to do these days!!!)
 

Jayefc1

Member
Joined
2 Sep 2017
Messages
2,235
Location
Swadlincote
Screenshot_20200417-070949_Samsung Internet.jpg
it was this one cant seem to find it on amazon at the moment though
 
Similar threads
Thread starter Title Forum Replies Date
Paul27 Oase 125 not sitting flat Hardware & DIY 7
GHNelson Oase Heatup 100w Hardware & DIY 0
jameson_uk Water change pump cut off Hardware & DIY 0

Similar threads

Top