• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Placement of diffuser and outlet pipes on a RIO 180?

Gary Nelson

I am in the process off setting up a RIO 180 using an external filter as I have removed the internal one - does it matter if the diffuser and outlet pipes are at each end of the tank (opposite ends) using the existing rear cut outs or is it best to have them both together at one end of the tank?

I am not going to be using a spray-bar as I'm using a AM1000 and flow will have dropped a little, I plan on using the eheim elbow and closed end outlets.

I am only used to corner tanks and obviously want to get this off to the best possible start as regards flow.

If any of you can point me in the right direction I'd be very grateful :thumbup:

Hi Gary,
went for the juwel tank i see.
Im no expert but from what i have gathered from reading circulation queries in this type of instance, the best way to get an even circulation is to have the inlet and outlet pipe situated together (same corner of the tank) with the outlet pointing to the opposite end of the tank away from the inlet.
This creates a 'vortex' like circulation pattern, maximising dispersion of c02 ferts heat etc throughout the water column. However hardscaping, planting etc all minimise the effectiveness. Adding extra circulation pumps is often necessary to eradicate 'dead spots'.
If you can master the art of the corner tank then this should be more straightforward.
Look forward to seeing this one in a journal, and if its an iwagumi your going for, then the dimensions of the juwel tank probably suit this layout better.
Cheerio
Ady.

what external will you be using?
my sister has a rio 180 and struggled to get water movement around the whole tank so she got herself a small powerhead, and it done the trick.

Ady34 said:
Hi Gary,
went for the juwel tank i see.