Plec Pics

johnny70

Member
Joined
1 Dec 2007
Messages
636
Location
Bakewell, Derbsyhire
oh and a couple of tetra's:D

Any thoughts on how to get better with pics? I have standard Juwel lighting to get these nothing more.

Shots were done with a Canon 400D some with a Canon 90-300 for the really shy fish and Sigma 28-80 (with macro) for the close in shots.

IMG_5622.jpg


IMG_5638.jpg


IMG_5643.jpg


IMG_5722.jpg


IMG_5635.jpg


IMG_5626.jpg
 

Dave Spencer

Member
Joined
3 Jul 2007
Messages
1,389
Location
N. Wales
There are some nice captures, but you need to look at experimenting with the camera`s white balance. All the pictures have a very yellow cast.

You may want to try for a sharper focus too.

The fish have been nicely framed though. You have far more patience than me for photographing fish tanks.

Dave.
 

johnny70

Member
Joined
1 Dec 2007
Messages
636
Location
Bakewell, Derbsyhire
Thanks Dave :)

The whole tank has a yellow cast, the lights seem to give that kind of hue off, the WB is set to auto, so I'll try with a non moving subject in the tank to see how that all works out :D

As for the focus, they all look perfect when I take them :?: :?: :?: must be my glasses, maybe time for a new prescription :D :D

JOHNNY
 

Joecoral

Member
Joined
24 Nov 2007
Messages
686
Location
Carmarthenshire
Do you shoot in RAW or JPEG? If you use RAW, you can fiddle around with the white balance after you've taken the shot.
I have the same camera as you and I use the Digital Photo Professional software that came with the camera to alter the WB
 

Dave Spencer

Member
Joined
3 Jul 2007
Messages
1,389
Location
N. Wales
PS7 doesn`t handle RAW files, unfortunately.

Try adjusting the colours using Image/Adjustments from the menu at the top of PS7. I used to process my JPEGS on PS7, and it is a fairly powerful program for processing. Since I switched to RAW, I have had to start using CS3.

Dave.
 

johnny70

Member
Joined
1 Dec 2007
Messages
636
Location
Bakewell, Derbsyhire
Cool, is CS3 similar to PS then? is it as easy to use?

I have been thinking of getting some lights to increase light in the tank when doing pictures, I saw the 'Studio Lighting' thread that Dan put up and that got me thinking ;)

JOHNNY
 

aaronnorth

Member
Joined
19 Feb 2008
Messages
3,953
Location
worksop, nottinghamshire
Does you camera have custom white balance? I get a pice of white paper under my light then take apicture of it and it sets the WB for me.
The last 2 are a bit pout of focus but the rest are fine too me :D
 

johnny70

Member
Joined
1 Dec 2007
Messages
636
Location
Bakewell, Derbsyhire
Not sure Arron, would expect it would, will check when I get home.

Right I have the same shot, one is done through PS5 the other through CS3(remembering this is the 1st time I have used it :wideyed: )

Which looks better, I know which one I chose

IMG_5784.jpg


IMG_5784-1.jpg
 
Top