• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Preparations - swapping one tank for another in the same spot

Wolf6

I've ordered a replacement tank for my current nano, with a footprint of 73x42x27cm, which to me is pretty shallow (but not quite as shallow as some). Now I have some questions regarding how to best go about this. The old tank is in the spot the new tank is going to be, so how would I best go about cycling (ADA soil), moving the tanks out of position/into the new spot. I'll need to use parts of the old tanks hardscape for the new layout and pilfer some plants. This is my first time having to do this, before this it was usually just a totally new tank being set up in a new spot so no moving, cycling could be done normally, but here its going to be a bit different. My current plan is:
  • lower water in current nano and remove lights/CO2/skimmer/twinstar nano/plants/any hardscape I want to re-use
  • Re-home all the fish into big tank which should be up and running by then and leave them to live out their lives in there (9 embers to go with the 17 there, 1 otto to join the 6 others, 7? or so dwarf cory)
  • Move the tank including filter and heater and leftover plants/hardscape/soil which by then should hopefully not weigh so much anymore (its 50L) to a temporary location
  • Refill old tank with tap water but keep water at low level (say 60/70% of max) and leave the tank unlighted with just shrimps (amano and bees) and only filter/heater
  • Set up the new tank, with new soil, clean filter, heater, co2, part new plants/part scavanged plants, part new hardscape/part scavenged hardscape, twinstar, lights etc and run it for a week with daily 50% water changes
  • Transfer the shrimp from old tank to new, first a few 'less pretty' ones and then the rest a few days later, changing 50% water in the new tank every other day