• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Propogating Japanese Maple cuttings - advice please

bridgey_c

Hi,

I have zero experience of taking cuttings from trees to propogate so I thought I would ask some of you good folk to see if anybody can help. I have a stunning 30ft acer that I wish to take cuttings from. There are quite a lot of bits of information on the internet but plenty of people believe rooting acer species is nearly impossible or at least not as good as grafting? and grafting seems like too much work at the moment. Many of the opinions are from people all over the world so I am also guessing that somebody with information from the UK is probably more useful.

Here is what I am thinking so far. Wait until April/May when the new growth has hardened slightly then take a cutting which contains 3 sets of nodes. Trim the leaves from the bottom node and apply a rooting hormone. Stick this branch in a well drained pot and cover in a plastic bag but so that it still has ventillation. Place in a bright room but without direct light. Mist daily and hopefully after 5-6 weeks new roots should be growing.

If anyone can shove me in the right direction with any pointers then I would be extremely grateful :) thanks.

Japanese Maple cutting is unfortunately not enough information because there are still different kinds of Japanese Maples. :)

Acer palmatum "atropurpureum" (It has also several cultivars with different characteristics) can be propagated with cutting, but seems extremely difficult.
Acer buergerianum seems to be more easier than the above.

You would need to know which one you excactly have. Than I think you're best bet is at a Bonsai community.. I know from some befriended Bonsai nerds
https://www.amazon.com/Bonsai-Werner-M-Busch/dp/3405165881