• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Quickest and easiest way to cycle tank

Goldfish122

Seedling
Firstly hello, i am new to fish keeping. I have a goldfish which has ich :(, but he is being treated. I am getting a 25 gal tank soon and heard i. Needed to cycle it. My filter in my goldfish tank has been running for over a week and ive been doing %30 water changes daily.

Whats the best way to cycle a tank? Thanks!

There's a BIG difference between "quick and easiest", and best. The BEST way, is to cycle the tank fishless for 8 weeks, doing daily 50% water changes for the first week, every other day the second week, twice a week the third week, and once a week from there on. The quickest and easiest way to cycle, is to use mature filtermedia (i.e., has been used in a different, fully operational and healthy tank for at least 8 weeks) and to use 25% water from a mature tank when first flooding.

But we need more info; will the 25G be a heavily planted tank, will it be tropical or cold water (goldfish), high or low tech, lighting, and more stuff like that.

But forget about using anything from you're current goldfish tank, because you don't want to start a new tank off with either ich, or the medicine to treat ich; you want a blank canvas so to speak. So 6 to 8 weeks of fishless cycling with all NEW filter media and FRESH (treated/ dechlorinated/ et cetera) water, in order not to possibly spread a health hazard.

The tank will be low tech and cold water and not planted. Sorry about the lack of info : P