• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Recommend a cheap flash

afroturf

Hi I'm new to slr cameras, I've just purchases a Canon 1000d mainly for photographing my fish and tanks. I have zero knowledge of slr camaras and equiptment and would just like a few pointers for the correct equiptment I'll need to get some good shot.

I've read that lenses and flashes are as important as the camera itself. I intend to buy a macro lense but that will have to wait till the next pay day so I'll be using the standard lense that come with the camera till then. So I think I'll need to but a flash to place above the tank whilst taking shot. Could any one advise on ones I could use probably second hand as I have very few pounds to spend I'd also need a cord or transmitter too.

Cheers,

Hi Afroturf,

Regarding the flash, I'd been asking myself the same question over the last few weeks as to what flash to get for my DSLR (I was increasingly fed-up with my on-camera pop-up flash spoiling photos and burning out pictures). Unfortunately I came to the conclusion that good-quality flashes are hard to find for Canon, although there are a number of budget flashes, they might not be quite as compatible or versatile.