• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Rio180 questions ???

tko187

Hi guys and girls, just finished cycling my new tank which is a Rio180 with internal lighting (new t5 high lite) filter/heater. I have been on this site a couple of weeks now and been doing lots of reading and also admiring the aquascapes .......very nice work, i hope to achieve what you all have some time soon.
I have a few questions i am not sure about if anybody can help i would really appreciate it. Firstly the tank i have setup is planted but nothing like the scale you are doing on ukaps!! Im a noob (come back to the hobby after 7yrs) and have forgot a lot of stuff. Questions here we go.

1. Is the standard lighting in a rio180 ok for a planted tank. I want carpeting plants, i have heard they are ok as they are the new high lights t5, i might add reflectors would this be ok??

2. Regarding the filter its an internal, i think im just gonna change the sponges to that hula hoop stuff over a period so i dont lose the bacteria, would this be sufficient??

3. I havent added any substrate at the begining of the setup as i wasnt aware, i know i need it now, what would be the best possible way of doing this without restarting another cycle and killing all my fishies and which do you recommend? I have heard good things about eco complete and tropica.

4. Co2 kits???? I need one if i want good growth right! Ok so ive been advised a jbl system which is £230, can i get a similar decent system for a cheaper price. And also if anyone can advise the fitting of one of these systems would be good.

Thats it for now thanks to all in advance, and hopefully you will all see some pics soon, ill post some of my tank just now but dont get too exited it just me trying.....i one day hope to get to your level(next level).....thanks.