• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

smallest carpeting plant

James Flexton

quick question, im looking for a very dense low growing carpeting plant for my new tank (pics in journal uploaded today.) i was thinking HC but is there anything else i should be considering?
its a shallow tank so i want low profile growth to keep the sense of scale.

suggestions on a postcard please..

thanks all..

Im no expert but iv only just started with Monte carlo after advice from this forum and I love it! Seems to grow well for me. :)

Beat me to it!
Just googled and if that's four leaved clover then not too keen, looks a bigger leaf size than Hc. Am I looking at the wrong thing?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I dont know if you can source these.

Marsilea crenata - pretty small low maintenance fern thats more demanding than most marsilea sp.

Smallest of glossostigma genus, g.diandrum is another pretty small steady growing and less demanding and very interesting plant. But again I highly doubt you can source it

Not keen on glossy variants either sorry, done lots of tanks with that years ago, want something different.

Thanks for the ideas though

For Marsilea crenata, you have found the right thing, but what is shown there is the emersed form. In submerged conditions it stays fairly compact about 1/4th-1/2 size of marsilea hirsuta.

Utricularia fulva is another tiny plant. We have collected once from very acidic peat substrate and failed to grow in tanks. Its much much smaller than regular UG and very finicky too.

I am afraid there are no more options left.

Maybe you can try some riccardia or smaller moss instead.

Yep, Marsilea crenata is tiny compared to the older Tropica Marsilea hirsuta.