• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Struggling Artist

Areyes

I mean I'm no artist but I believe aquascaping to be an art. My name is Andre but people call me Dre for short. I've been into aquascaping for about 4 years yet I have had no success being able to grow a tank. Partly due to time that I haven't been able to dedicate to the tank and also because I won't quit trying to grow a nice HC carpet which I'm sure it's something I shouldn't be attempting with my lack of experience lol. I happened into this forum a couple weeks back when I was googling guides to help me grow an HC carpet and I have to say this seems better than trying to ask reddit for answers. I'm hoping to learn a lot from this forum which will help me grow many beautiful scapes. If anyone has any recommendations regarding readings i could be doing or videos to help me get started that would be amazing and truly appreciated. For my first project I would love to start a nano DSM with HC cuba carpeting. Anyways thank you for your time reading this and allowing me to be part of this forum.

Sincerly
Dre

Hi Dre,

You should be able to grow a HC carpet no problem, if you get a couple of things right. This was my last one, and I’m by no means an expert.

EBCBA451-51B9-444B-A411-F2920BB92B12.jpeg
My main tips for the carpet would be:

1) Slowly increase the flow from the filter when it’s first planted to allow it to take root and establish its self before being blasted. This is striking the balance between having as much flow as possible from the start, but without washing the plantlets away.
2) Use a good fertiliser. Many in here use EI, but I just use TNC complete and it works fine.
3) Make sure your Co2 is enough. Bring the Co2 up to the upper levels of what your fish will tolerate. Make sure the co2 levels are consistent once you have found the sweet spot.