• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Tank depth, water changes and open tops

Ray

Hello, I'm back into fishkeeping after 20 years and its all got so much more exciting since I was a kid... I've been running a little 25L pilot planted guppy tank for the last two months dosing Easy-Life ferts weekly and liquid carbon daily. Everything is growing nicely, my wife approves of my rediscovered hobby and so its time time upgrade! In the old days I could only grow Java moss and duckweed so this is a pleasant suprise.

A 90cm tank would fit the gap we have but here my dilemma starts. I could get a 90 x 30 x45H and have a nice 120L or at the other extreme get 90 x 45 x60H for 240L. I'll post a piccy of my inspiration, I think a 240L like this could be really impressive if not too much work:

wNzgxMzIzNnM0MTNkZmQzMXk1NDE%3D.jpg

I have 5 minutes/day plus an hour or so/week for maintenance. So I have these 3 questions:

- for a 60cm deep tank will normal flourescents do or do I need hugely more intensity and maybe even metal halide to get through?
- how do you change 60 or even 120 Litres of water without it being a real chore? What do people do these days - wheel a small barrel up to the tank and dechloinate and heat to correct temp overnight?
- Open tops look lovely but are they really practical with fish jumping and evaporation. How does everyone stop this? If I cut a sheet of Acrylic to cover my Aquarium will I keep the open top look but stop things escaping?

Thanks all for your advice.

Ray

Hi Ray,
Welcome back to the obsession. It's always good to have the Managing Director on-board. I think you'll be able to do better than duckweed. :)