• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Tank Planning

After lurking and posting some random posts myself already, I thought I would put out my plans for my upcoming tank! Using all the info I have picked up from scratch mainly for this forum I might add :) I have got my tank and equipment together and most of it set up apart from the Co2 which should be this week. I have made a little plan below let me know what you think.

Tank idea:
Left half of tank starts out very heavily planted and around the middle starts to thin out so the right hand side of the tank is just grass and open plan this is after seeing and being inspired by carpeting grass as I knew immediately that is what I was going to work my tank around!

(some of this may be incorrect as I am a newbie please point out any errors it would be much appreciated, thanks)

Setup
Tank: Vision 450 (5 foot)
Filter: x2 Eheim 2028
Powerhead: Hydor Koralia 2 (I may end up adding another)
Lighting: 2x Plantpro 54watt T5s, 2x Freshwater 54watt T5s (Total watt with Lights & Reflectors = 432 watt)
Co2: Pressurised CO2 30ppm (in tank, will switch to a in-line one I guess in the future)
Heating: x2 Hydor 300 External Thermal Heater
Substrate: Eco complete
Ferts EI daily method (once I get my head around it, hehe) 50% water changes etc

Expected fish to be kept:
Panda Corys x 20 or so
Large shoal of fish, Rummy, Neons etc (not finalised this yet)
Some unusual community fish
Cherry Shrimp

Plants:
Arg! need help in this area badly. (Still doing research on this)
As stated above already grass probably dwarf hair grass

You can see a plan of what I am after doing below (WOW how bad am I at drawing!)
tank_plan_web.jpg

If I have missed anything please let me know, and thanks for reading :)

The spec looks good to me.