• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Thailandia Sunset

Ahh, id love masterline but the cost is quite high... 50 pounds shipped for one bag. What soil would you recommend?
Yeah that's a bit expensive!
I've only ever use 3 soils. BlackEarth Premium, which unfortunately is not produced anymore. It was actually produced in Thailand. This was the best in my opinion. I used Amazonia but it crumbled quite fast. And the latest is MasterSoil which I have been using for 2 years now and I think it’s rather good. Only complain I have is that they only sell the large sized grain here in Thailand because the importer did not import the medium and small size grain versions, but ultimately that's not a big deal. In fact it's a good thing as the soil does not compact as much as with smaller grains.
There are other soils out there, some of which are not found in Europe/USA but I don't think they are as good. One is called CrazyStone which I have been told is weak. I know that Netlea is also producing its soil and Chihiro is also about to release its own both of which will be available internationally. I will probably test it once it's out, but in all honesty I think all these soil are eventually the same. It's just a substrate at the end of the day. Some are more heavily loaded at the beginning than others but that's about it. I think the thing to avoid are substrates with very heavy organics in them but that's only something you know if the manufacturer tells you.

Last edited:
Yeah that's a bit expensive!