• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Thank you

Antony

Seedling
I’ve been keeping fish for around forty years, and have always struggled to grow plants, then eighteen months ago I discovered this site, this is just a big thank you to everyone for they great advice that they have shared here, from flow and distribution, and being told that you can grow plant in any light, and substrate without spending a fortune. Here’s a picture of my lido 120 with original filter in use T5 lighting, and plain gravel.
c2c7f2cc06f22e1ea7ae012c57172405.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Tell us more....tank size, filters, CO2 ?, ferts etc etc etc...

Hi yes sorry should have given more detail, it’s a juwel tank with 120lts capacity.
It was set up before I discovered this site so it still has the bio flow internal filter it came with, I’ve had no problem with it, other than getting the 10x water turn over, it only delivers 600 lts per minute (manufactures claim!! ) so taking the advice from here I added two flow pumps, 1000 lts per minute each on the back wall pointing to the front and slightly up to break the surface.
I inject food grade Co2 via a 6.5 kg cylinder with a Co2art valve group, to a 50mm bazooka diffuser. As I didn’t like the mist in the tank I inserted the diffuser into the filter between the second a third sponge in the top section. The Co2 comes on two hours before lights on, and off one hour before lights off. The drop checker is a mid green at lights on and lime green at lights off.
The flow pumps are also hooked up to the same timer as the gas, giving the fish time off from the flow.
The lighting is the standard t5 daylight bulbs with reflectors, with an eight hour photo period, this could still be to long but as things are going well, I have left it alone.