the best way of adding co2 to a 300L

Discussion in 'Aquascaping' started by Mark Evans, 5 Apr 2009.

  1. Mark Evans

    Mark Evans Expert

    Joined:
    13 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    6,492
    Location:
    newark notts.
    here's when i discovered co2. a ladder to the left and 2 x bottle thingys :lol:

    see all the algae on the wood?....i thought it looked cool :wideyed:

    _MG_7689-01.jpg

    IAPLC! i'm coming your way!
     
  2. Dolly Sprint 16v

    Dolly Sprint 16v Member

    Joined:
    26 Oct 2008
    Messages:
    1,636
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Saintly

    I bought a inline reactor and in my eye it working better. Please review my thread Tetratec spares for pic's.

    EheimFilterlayout003.jpg

    Paul
     
  3. Themuleous

    Themuleous Member

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,126
    Location:
    Aston, Oxfordshire
    Its the TetraPlant CO2-Optimat systems on the right that's worrying me! :lol:

    Sam

    EDIT - at least you were adding CO2!
     
  4. altaaffe

    altaaffe Member

    Joined:
    13 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Thornhill, Egremont, Cumbria
    As said by Sam - at least CO2 was being added. How many of us wondered why our plants were suffering in the beginning?

    I added DIY to a gravel only community tank my wife had as an experiment and the plants flew up, once they broke the surface no more problems - although Vallis growing to 90cm in a 50cm high tank does cause it's own problems !!

    That said, I'm enjoying life with my own CO2 reactors - helped me realise I wasn't dosing enough macros !!
     
  5. a1Matt

    a1Matt Member

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2008
    Messages:
    2,498
    Location:
    Bromley
    and then some!

    Having the internet has helped my tank come along leaps and bounds. I would never have plunged so deeply into the hobby had it not been for sites like this one and the barr report giving me the confidence that I will be able to work out and rectify any problems that I have.
     
  6. Ejack

    Ejack Member

    Joined:
    22 Jun 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Berkshire, UK
    my thoughts exactly matt, the best thing is I'm still learning more and more each day. Have to thank places like Ukaps and the people on here like Dan, George, Clive, Paulo, to name but a few.
     
  7. Themuleous

    Themuleous Member

    Joined:
    6 Jul 2007
    Messages:
    4,126
    Location:
    Aston, Oxfordshire
    I
    I
    I
    I
    I
    V
     
  8. Mark Webb

    Mark Webb Member

    Joined:
    27 Nov 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Paul, can you tell me where you purchased those tap/connectors on your Eheim?
     
  9. nry

    nry Member

    Joined:
    23 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    1,239
    Location:
    Cumbria, UK
    The Optimats are useless, even on a smaller tank they cannot keep a stable CO2 level. And the DIY ladders on a tank that size are likely not ideal either.

    If money is no object then the Boyu diffusers via eBay for £5 each (yes, £5!) are cracking value for an external inline diffuser. You'd work them with DIY CO2, but for a tank that size a 2KG fire extinguisher and eBay regulator would be the best bet - set you back around £75 but you'll get stable CO2 that you can alter the dosage of to ensure (with a drop checker and 4dkh water) you get 30ppm.
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice