To sump or n̶o̶t̶ to sump? (journal)

Wookii

Member
Joined
13 Nov 2019
Messages
970
Location
Nottingham
You mean like this? Then the right inflow directly blows into a cluster of thick ferns..
524e1ee8831e8cd3ddc79368441f26f6.jpg
Fair enough, it’s hard to tell that’s the case from your photo. Circular flow though is still the best way to avoid any dead spots I think.
 
Joined
20 Jul 2018
Messages
388
Location
Netherlands
First part ready... Sorry for the bad phone drawing. Sump is curing also.. Had to redo the sump used the wrong silicon.. Always read carefully what you need there's like hundreds types of it in the store, and don't try to find it near closing time..
d1a3ce4b614be61dca9baf1ad4503682.jpg
 
Joined
20 Jul 2018
Messages
388
Location
Netherlands
I noticed today I made one fault in my design.. if the pump stops, water flows back trough it also and not only the overflow.. So i've got an out take at half of the tank that means that the half of the tank flows back to the sump.. :banghead:
 

Wookii

Member
Joined
13 Nov 2019
Messages
970
Location
Nottingham
I noticed today I made one fault in my design.. if the pump stops, water flows back trough it also and not only the overflow.. So i've got an out take at half of the tank that means that the half of the tank flows back to the sump.. :banghead:

Your pipes are stainless steel right?

If so, you just need to drill a tiny hole in the pipe at, or just below, the target water surface level. When the pump goes off, once the tank water level reaches the hole, it should start to let in air and break the siphon.

Edit: Either that or you could possible look at a non-return valve - but I don’t know how reliable they are in an aquarium water environment (thinking clogging of the membrane etc)
 
Joined
20 Jul 2018
Messages
388
Location
Netherlands
That's a good idea I've seen it before looking for sump designs.. I was already searching for return valves on the net.. But now that you tell me I didn't take the clogging in account.. So drilling holes seems like good and cheap options.
 
Joined
28 Apr 2017
Messages
61
Location
Sydney
Hi I think your going to loose a lot of water flow with so much pipe length,corners and co2 reactor on the out flow of the pump. I would try to put the reactor on the Other side of the pump if possible.
 

Wookii

Member
Joined
13 Nov 2019
Messages
970
Location
Nottingham
Hi I think your going to loose a lot of water flow with so much pipe length,corners and co2 reactor on the out flow of the pump. I would try to put the reactor on the Other side of the pump if possible.

What do you mean by ‘the other side’?
 
Joined
28 Apr 2017
Messages
61
Location
Sydney
The pump should pull the water through the reactor not push it. My understanding is these pumps work much better that way. It should create less head pressure for the pump.
 
Joined
20 Jul 2018
Messages
388
Location
Netherlands
Never seen a reactor placed before the pump.. Then what you suggest is put the pump out of the sump and let the bypass and the reactor sit in front of the pump? That means I have to order all the piping again and redo the whole thing..
 

Wookii

Member
Joined
13 Nov 2019
Messages
970
Location
Nottingham
I must admit, in my own research, I’ve never seen it set up that way - the pumps are always submerged in the sump.

Might be worth dropping an email to Aquamedic @DeepMetropolis for their take on it.
 
Joined
28 Apr 2017
Messages
61
Location
Sydney
Ok I don’t want u to have to redo the whole thing again!
I just know that if u add a long length of hose or to many corners to the out flow of a pump u lose a lot of water pressure l/h.
I would have the pump in the sump to depending on the model of pump.
 
Joined
20 Jul 2018
Messages
388
Location
Netherlands
So far as my experiences with pot filters is if you restrict the inflow instead of the outflow in tended to suck in air cause it could not deliver the water supply that the pump would like to put out. I thought that it would apply in some way to all pumps as the intake of this pump standard is 32mm and the output is 25mm ...

I just know that if u add a long length of hose or to many corners to the out flow of a pump u lose a lot of water pressure l/h.

This is something I took in account when ordering this pump that I had more capacity then I needed.. I have jet to see if I've estimated right or wrong.. Still hope that I'm on the save side :)

Might be worth dropping an email to Aquamedic @DeepMetropolis for their take on it.

Yes I will try to mail them, they should know what they made..
 
Joined
20 Jul 2018
Messages
388
Location
Netherlands
This is what I've done. Cut a piece of plexi glass in the size of the inside and length of the weir, not longer else you will limit the flow trough the fitting.. Mark the holes for the screws.. Dril a hole of 4mm and use an m5 wiretap.. I had an unused inlet hang on thingy that had the screws that I could salvage..

Maybe I have to round off the sharp corner of the glass if it is to noisy but it is easy removable so I can always change that..
ef31bfe1f5c3a13ce93202b7f998aec4.jpg
dc4049f9bc3a7725224bd8c78854c633.jpg
 

Wookii

Member
Joined
13 Nov 2019
Messages
970
Location
Nottingham
This is what I've done. Cut a piece of plexi glass in the size of the inside and length of the weir, not longer else you will limit the flow trough the fitting.. Mark the holes for the screws.. Dril a hole of 4mm and use an m5 wiretap.. I had an unused inlet hang on thingy that had the screws that I could salvage..

Maybe I have to round off the sharp corner of the glass if it is to noisy but it is easy removable so I can always change that..
ef31bfe1f5c3a13ce93202b7f998aec4.jpg
dc4049f9bc3a7725224bd8c78854c633.jpg

Genius! I love a simple and clever after market mod!
 

Wookii

Member
Joined
13 Nov 2019
Messages
970
Location
Nottingham
Phew!! :clap:

Is that your working water level? Or will it be a little higher once the pumps start running?
 
Top