• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Using Peat To Lower Water pH

jaypeecee

Hi Folks,

In one of my tanks, I need to lower the water pH to around 6.5, i.e. slightly acidic. The current pH of this tank is 7.54 and alkalinity/carbonate hardness is 3.0 dKH. I'm wondering about using peat, something I've never done before. Can anyone suggest a suitable product? I would need to add the peat to a small internal filter. The tank is only 15 litres. CO2 injection is not currently used on this tank. To what extent does the peat colour the water? I realize that it's difficult to quantify this but any guidance is better than nothing. Anything else I should know?

Thanks in advance.

JPC

Why do you want to lower the PH? Peat is a pretty old fashioned method as it's unsustainable to harvest, something like this better

Why do you want to lower the PH? Peat is a pretty old fashioned method as it's unsustainable to harvest, something like this better
Hi @timdjones10

The first reason is because I have been advised that it would benefit my plants if the water is somewhat acidic. And this has come from a reliable source. More details to follow. The second reason is because it has been scientifically demonstrated that cyanobacteria (aka BGA) prefer alkaline environments. Having had a few problems with cyano, I thought I'd put the scientific research to the test.

I realized a little while after starting this thread that here I was suggesting the use of a precious natural resource. So, let's scrap the idea of using peat and use something else - natural or chemical.

All suggestions welcome.

JPC

Hi @timdjones10