• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Critique my hardscape What do you think?

Harry H

Hi all,

Now I got my new EA600, I wanted to start on the hard scape and experiment. It is the first time I am scaping a tank with this dimensions, all my other tanks were nano cubes, and no need to say i am a newbie. The layout is not the final, I wanted to hear your opinions if anything stands out. Tank is to be viewed from Front and LH side corner.

So, what do you think of the layout so far?

Thank you! :)

Harry.
20180916_201146.jpg
20180916_201157.jpg
20180916_201220.jpg
20180916_201229.jpg
20180916_201236.jpg
20180916_201257.jpg
20180916_203552.jpg

Last edited:
Will the view not be better from the front LHS? Should be easy to flip it round at this stage. Otherwise I really like it! Make sure that the line of rock is not too uniform or neat else it will end up looking like a wall. Do you plan on having a different substrate behind it?

I meant LH side. :D The tank is in the corner of the room, RH side is the wall side.

I tried to leave gaps between the rocks and they are staggered to allow planting between.

The substrate is temporary at the moment, behind the rocks I will have volcano mineral and jbl manado dark to plant in. Front will be decorative sand. Or at least that is the plan at the moment.

Looks good , wood is a good fit for the tank. Jbl monado is super light and a pain to plant in, floaters will drive you crazy...

Thanks for the heads up. I did not know that about madano. Not sure where I can get ADA Amazonia, and LFS stocks madano. Maybe Dennerle Scapers Soil? Not sure yet.

Harry
I will use this photo as a reference.
20180916_201220-jpg.jpg

It looks like a very nice tank. The DW has strong features not light and, twiggy, it will work great with all your well sculptured and, sized rocks.