• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

What is the basic difference?

dougbraz

Just a question from a newbie here: what is the essential difference between an aquascaped tank with some small fish and a planted tank with small fish? Is it just that the first one is just that – more deliberately/carefully set up? What I mean is, can you call a simple relatively heavily planted tank with rock and wood aquascaped, or is there a line to be crossed before you actually have a proper aquascaped tank? CO2 doesn't really come into this doubt as you can have fairly beautiful aquascaped low-tech tanks. I leave Iwagumi style tanks out of this context as they are works of art!

I think the two terms are being used largely interchangeably, especially in the more mainstream social media areas but I agree with what you've said. For me, an aquascape should be a deliberate or conscience decision with a philosophy or 'story'. However, I'd never say to someone "that's not an aquascape", but when someone asks "how do I improve my scape" I always ask what they were trying to achieve as I think it helps to have a concept before you focus on things like the composition. Suppose it's a bit like the difference between doodling and drawing.

It's also possible that an aquascape is more concerned with how the livestock is used as part of the overall aesthetic where a planted tank has the potential to be a more traditional 'fish tank' with plants my LFS had in stock if that makes sense.