• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

What settings for non co2 low light plants with AI Prime freshwater lights

john6

I am new to the planted tank and i am waiting for my plants to arrive on Friday, the plants i have coming are
Echinodorus Rose
Barthii
Ozelot
Palifolius
Crypto Wendti
Crypto Wilissi
Hygrophila corymbosa 'Siamensis'
Alternanthera reineckii 'Pink' x
Helanthium bolivianum 'Quadricostatus'
Lymphaea lotus
Its a 6x2x2 tank with 3 AI Prime freshwater lights (13 led's not the new 16)
What would your settings be for the plants i have and how long would be best to have them on for as i really dont know where to start with lighting except they are all (so i was told) low light plants.

I am new to the planted tank and i am waiting for my plants to arrive on Friday, the plants i have coming are
Echinodorus Rose
Barthii
Ozelot
Palifolius
Crypto Wendti
Crypto Wilissi
Lymphaea lotus
What would your settings be for the plants i have and how long would be best to have them on for as i really dont know where to start with lighting except they are all (so i was told) low light plants.
Hello,
In all tanks, but especially non-CO2 tanks, lighting should be very low to begin with, probably 20% power. When you dump plants under water they have the priority of avoiding being drowned. Their physiology has to change in order to deal with the water. After a few weeks they can start to deal with the light, but more light does not result in healthier plants - and there is a penalty of algal blooms.

Cheers,

Echinodorus Rose
Barthii
Ozelot
Palifolius
Crypto Wendti
Crypto Wilissi
Lymphaea lotus

Most of your plants (perhaps with the exception of the Reineckii) are low light slower growing plants, and AI Primes are pretty bright, so as @ceg4048 suggest, keep them low to avoid giving algae an advantage.