• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

What size and how many holes on Spraybar.

Katfish

I am going to make a full length spray bar for my 6ft tank but unsure on how many holes I need and size to get a near even flow out of the holes.

The pipe is 15mm internal dia that I am going to use for the spray bar.

The pump supplying the spray bar is rated at 3400l/ph with a 16mm hose outlet.

Can anybody help ?

Wow that is going to be some spray bar!! I am presuming that you are manufacturing this yourself from a 6 foot piece of pipe? I am no expert mate but I would say find an Eheim or Fluval Spraybar in a shop, count the number of holes and the diameters or size of holes and replicate this all along the pipe.

You will obviously have to block up the far end of the pipe with something. If you are drilling the holes yourself make sure they are all level and pointing in the same direction across the top of the tank or slightly downwards. Rotation of the pipe can also achieve this.

I assume your pump is strong enough to maintain the pressure to get the maximum water flow through the holes? If in doubt start by drilling smaller holes and less numbers to begin with. You can always add more holes or make them bigger but you can not make them smaller or take them away after if you have too many. A bit of trial and error by the sounds of things.

Let us know how you get on.

Cheers.

Steve

Hi,

Your situaiton sounds similar to mine. I'm using an Eheim 2260 with the 1262 pump (3,400 lph) on a 1.5m tank. My spray bar is 1.3m long. I'd recommend reading my thread for more detailed information:
http://ukaps.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f= ... 10#p242117