What water conditioner do you use?

PM

Member
Joined
15 Dec 2007
Messages
611
Location
London
I use Seachem Prime, it's pricey, but my tank is teeny! So it lasts forever :)
 

Wolfenrook

Member
Joined
30 Apr 2008
Messages
336
Location
West Midlands UK
Matt Holbrook-Bull said:
request a water report from your supplier, that will tell you how much/if your water has chloramine or chlorine in it.. then you can make your choices from there.. its likely that inner city areas will probably have more in it due to water recycling, rural areas less so.
I got my water report a while back, Severn Trent make them freely available via their website. That's how I know that our water contains quite a lot of chlorine, fluoride and copper (the copper is only a trace amount, but when combined with copper in plant ferts can reach toxic levels for inverts).

Ade
 

Garuf

Member
Joined
30 Oct 2007
Messages
4,957
Location
Leeds.
Wolfenrook said:
(the copper is only a trace amount, but when combined with copper in plant ferts can reach toxic levels for inverts).
Oh really? Do you think that could be why I can't keep shrimp?
 

Stu Worrall

Global Moderator
Staff member
Joined
7 Sep 2008
Messages
1,989
Location
Flintshire, North Wales
ive used it in the past but was advised/convinced to go RO. Just setting up my tanks again now so not sure whether to go RO again or just buy some dechlorinator.
 

LondonDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
10,920
Location
London
stuworrall said:
ive used it in the past but was advised/convinced to go RO. Just setting up my tanks again now so not sure whether to go RO again or just buy some dechlorinator.
I wouldn't bother with RO, just use your tap water and add some dechlorinator if you have fish in there.
 

Dan Crawford

Founder
Staff member
Joined
21 Jun 2007
Messages
3,267
Location
Daventry, Northants
I don't use anything. I used to use Tetra AquaSafe but when i was advised that it doesn't kill chloramines then i stopped all together.
 

LondonDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
10,920
Location
London
Dan Crawford said:
I don't use anything. I used to use Tetra AquaSafe but when i was advised that it doesn't kill chloramines then i stopped all together.
Yeah I dose when I remember to add it while filling up the tank again whith a hose. Sometimes it bypasses me!
 

Stu Worrall

Global Moderator
Staff member
Joined
7 Sep 2008
Messages
1,989
Location
Flintshire, North Wales
LondonDragon said:
stuworrall said:
ive used it in the past but was advised/convinced to go RO. Just setting up my tanks again now so not sure whether to go RO again or just buy some dechlorinator.
I wouldn't bother with RO, just use your tap water and add some dechlorinator if you have fish in there.
i guess its time to sell the unused RO-man as well as the PH controller then :lol: ill be able to put the proceeds towards more plants and a better substrate :D
 

mick b

Member
Joined
22 Jul 2008
Messages
80
Hi All,

I don't use any De-chlor either, but I do use an HMA filter cartridge (actual name Pentek CBR2-10, removes chlorine and heavy metals), I also use RO (but that's a discus thing ;) ).

IMO, Modern water companies, quite often mix & match from differing areas, dependant upon season, rainfall and 'ground-works' hence the water (particuarly Chlorine & Chloramines) can vary dramaticaly (don't trust the 6month avergae web-site tests!!).

Chlorine will de-gas over-night (with an added air-stone), but chloramines will not!

Check here for which is best for you! http://www.pentekfiltration.com/cartcarb.asp

Better-safe than sorry, Cheers, Mick B :D 8)
 

Similar threads

Top