What water conditioner do you use?

Discussion in 'General Planted Tank Discussions' started by Fred Dulley, 26 Aug 2008.

  1. PM

    PM Member

    Joined:
    15 Dec 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Location:
    London
    I use Seachem Prime, it's pricey, but my tank is teeny! So it lasts forever :)
     
  2. jay

    jay Member

    Joined:
    22 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    693
    Location:
    Harrow, Middlesex
    I use Stress Coat. Good stuff, not too expensive.
     
  3. Wolfenrook

    Wolfenrook Member

    Joined:
    30 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    West Midlands UK
    I got my water report a while back, Severn Trent make them freely available via their website. That's how I know that our water contains quite a lot of chlorine, fluoride and copper (the copper is only a trace amount, but when combined with copper in plant ferts can reach toxic levels for inverts).

    Ade
     
  4. Garuf

    Garuf Member

    Joined:
    30 Oct 2007
    Messages:
    4,959
    Location:
    Leeds.
    Oh really? Do you think that could be why I can't keep shrimp?
     
  5. Stu Worrall

    Stu Worrall Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Flintshire, North Wales
    ive used it in the past but was advised/convinced to go RO. Just setting up my tanks again now so not sure whether to go RO again or just buy some dechlorinator.
     
  6. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,348
    Location:
    London
    I wouldn't bother with RO, just use your tap water and add some dechlorinator if you have fish in there.
     
  7. Dan Crawford

    Dan Crawford Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Jun 2007
    Messages:
    3,268
    Location:
    Daventry, Northants
    I don't use anything. I used to use Tetra AquaSafe but when i was advised that it doesn't kill chloramines then i stopped all together.
     
  8. LondonDragon

    LondonDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    21 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    10,348
    Location:
    London
    Yeah I dose when I remember to add it while filling up the tank again whith a hose. Sometimes it bypasses me!
     
  9. Stu Worrall

    Stu Worrall Forum Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    7 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    1,993
    Location:
    Flintshire, North Wales
    i guess its time to sell the unused RO-man as well as the PH controller then :lol: ill be able to put the proceeds towards more plants and a better substrate :D
     
  10. mick b

    mick b Member

    Joined:
    22 Jul 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Hi All,

    I don't use any De-chlor either, but I do use an HMA filter cartridge (actual name Pentek CBR2-10, removes chlorine and heavy metals), I also use RO (but that's a discus thing ;) ).

    IMO, Modern water companies, quite often mix & match from differing areas, dependant upon season, rainfall and 'ground-works' hence the water (particuarly Chlorine & Chloramines) can vary dramaticaly (don't trust the 6month avergae web-site tests!!).

    Chlorine will de-gas over-night (with an added air-stone), but chloramines will not!

    Check here for which is best for you! http://www.pentekfiltration.com/cartcarb.asp

    Better-safe than sorry, Cheers, Mick B :D 8)
     

Share This Page

Facebook Page
Twitter Page
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice