Who needs plants, anyway!?

Dave Spencer

Member
Joined
3 Jul 2007
Messages
1,389
Location
N. Wales
First no CO2, and now no plants. You are in serious danger of being booted of this forum, sir. :lol:

Dave.
 

George Farmer

Founder
Staff member
Thread starter
Joined
30 Jun 2007
Messages
7,077
Location
Cambridgeshire
saintly said:
f/1.0 eh?.... ;) who's showing off now then....great depth mate.

but iso 400?....1/400 ? surely with that speed George you could muster up a shot with iso 100? 8)
Not sure where/how you got that info mate. But thanks anyway. :D

It's 17mm, f/2.8, 1/400, ISO 800. Taken with my trusted 17-70mm Sigma. The noise difference is virtually indistinguishable up to ISO 800, so I'm just lazy most of the time and fire away at ISO 800.

I wish I could afford an f/1.0 lens...! lol

Dave Spencer said:
First no CO2, and now no plants. You are in serious danger of being booted of this forum, sir. :lol:

Dave.
He he. Don't worry mate, I've still got my nano planted up and intend on getting a big 180cm opti-white NA-style in the longer-term.
 

Fred Dulley

Member
Joined
8 Jul 2007
Messages
532
Location
Cardiff, Wales
George Farmer said:
Fred Dulley said:
Marine eh? Strive for no nitrates or phosphate this time :D
Love the pic btw.
Nah. Macroalgae loves 'em!

Ah. Didn't realising you were opting for some macroalgae. My mistake :D
I've never taken the plunge into marine (money), but looking after them at the LFS has been a joy!
 

George Farmer

Founder
Staff member
Thread starter
Joined
30 Jun 2007
Messages
7,077
Location
Cambridgeshire
saintly said:
Right click properties George. It gave me the shooting data of the image
Weird. It's wrong data when you do that. PCs eh?! :p

If you copy the image to CS3>File>File Info>Camera Data 1 then you'll get the real data, as I posted.
 

Dan Crawford

Founder
Staff member
Joined
21 Jun 2007
Messages
3,264
Location
Daventry, Northants
Looks quality mate, i can't wait to see it in the flesh.
 

LondonDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
11,132
Location
London
George Farmer said:
Better hurry mate! I'm on to the next one soon... :)
How long you going to keep each setup going for? Just for some photos and the learning curve?
 

George Farmer

Founder
Staff member
Thread starter
Joined
30 Jun 2007
Messages
7,077
Location
Cambridgeshire
LondonDragon said:
George Farmer said:
Better hurry mate! I'm on to the next one soon... :)
How long you going to keep each setup going for? Just for some photos and the learning curve?
Not long enough really, but I'm on a tight deadline for each feature for PFK.
 

aaronnorth

Member
Joined
19 Feb 2008
Messages
3,953
Location
worksop, nottinghamshire
George Farmer said:
saintly said:
Right click properties George. It gave me the shooting data of the image
Weird. It's wrong data when you do that. PCs eh?! :p

If you copy the image to CS3>File>File Info>Camera Data 1 then you'll get the real data, as I posted.

I got the same as you Mark, but once downloaded i got the "correct" information :!:
 

George Farmer

Founder
Staff member
Thread starter
Joined
30 Jun 2007
Messages
7,077
Location
Cambridgeshire
aaronnorth said:
George Farmer said:
saintly said:
Right click properties George. It gave me the shooting data of the image
Weird. It's wrong data when you do that. PCs eh?! :p

If you copy the image to CS3>File>File Info>Camera Data 1 then you'll get the real data, as I posted.

I got the same as you Mark, but once downloaded i got the "correct" information :!:
You can't trust Windows... lol
 

LondonDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
21 Feb 2008
Messages
11,132
Location
London
I actually checked the EXIF info straight away and also spotted the f1.0 but thought it as an error as I never saw george mention a new lens, and f1.0!! But that DOF couldn't be f1.0 really, then again I naver had a f1.0 lens :p my best one is 2.8
 

George Farmer

Founder
Staff member
Thread starter
Joined
30 Jun 2007
Messages
7,077
Location
Cambridgeshire
Canon used to do a 50mm f/1.0 but replaced it with the f/1.2 in 1989. Retail was $2500 way back then.

One of Canon's best lenses is the 85mm f/1.2. One day maybe... Along with a FF sensor.
 

Stu Worrall

Global Moderator
Staff member
Joined
7 Sep 2008
Messages
1,994
Location
Flintshire, North Wales
George Farmer said:
Canon used to do a 50mm f/1.0 but replaced it with the f/1.2 in 1989. Retail was $2500 way back then.

One of Canon's best lenses is the 85mm f/1.2. One day maybe... Along with a FF sensor.
a girl at college has one of the 85mm 1.2L's which i tried the other week, instantly fell in love with the DOF for portraits!
 

Dave Spencer

Member
Joined
3 Jul 2007
Messages
1,389
Location
N. Wales
The bokeh should be quality, too!

Dave.
 
Top