• You are viewing the forum as a Guest, please login (you can use your Facebook, Twitter, Google or Microsoft account to login) or register using this link: Log in or Sign Up

Filter Maintenance Advice

longridehome

Seedling
Hello all and best wishes to all forum members and families for 2011.

This is my first real post on the ukaps site as I am new to the planted tropical tank hobby but have kept fancy goldfish with a few plants in the past.

I am having a BGA battle with my 6ft x2ft x 18 inch deep set up that has been running for about 9 months.
Obviously trawling through the vast amount of information on this site this could be due to a number of reasons and without listing more details of my set up I am not expecting any specific advise that will result in a cure for my BGA problems.

However I have notice that filter cleanliness is one area that can help with BGA problems.
The filtration on this tank is via an Eheim 2128 thermofilter with a large Eheim bare filter cannister as a pre filter.
By bare I mean that it has mechanical foams/wool and biological media but no pump head. The water syphoning through this before entering the 2128.
The thinking behind this is that I have plumbed it in such a way that it can be removed whilst leaving the 2128 running.Then the prefilter can be removed and serviced and the 2128 protected and very infrequently serviced.

This has been the case for the last 9months the 2128 set up with the the media it arrived with and untouched for 9months, the bare cannister has the biological (Aqua One advanced pro) media from my last, cold water fancy tank, which was running for about a year plus foam and wool as a mechanical pre filter.